May half term break has changed School will be closed from 31st May - 4th June Click to close

Our School

Our school is divided into three phases of learning based on the social, emotional and academic needs of children. 

Phase One

Early Years and Year 1

The Early Years and Year 1 work closely together building on the seven areas of learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage and more discrete subject areas at the start of the National Curriculum. This phase is full of child initiated learning, enquiry and investigation, in both the inside and outside classrooms. Learning through play and enquiry is crucial at this age and messy play is definitely encouraged! 

Early Years

Rimon follows the government’s Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS), which is based around four key themes:

  • A unique child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive relationships – children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  • Enabling environments – the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning and we plan to give children opportunities to learn within the classrooms, in the playground and within the school grounds.
  • Learning and development – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development.

The EYFS curriculum is divided into three prime areas and four specific areas:

  • The Prime Areas: Communication and Language, Physical Development,  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • The Specific Areas: Literacy, Understanding the World, Mathematics and Expressive Arts and Design
  • Kodesh and Ivrit 

Year 1

Transition into Year 1 is gentle and builds on core skills from Reception by introducing new subject disciplines whilst retaining the core essence of the EYFS cross-curricular style of teaching and learning.

At Rimon we will teach elements of the NC but we will also teach a creative curriculum and Kodesh. Compulsory national curriculum subjects at primary school are

• English

• Maths

• Science

• History

• Geography

• Design and technology

• Art and design

• Music

• Physical education (PE)

• Information and communication technology (ICT)

Rimon will also teach Kodesh, Ivrit, PSHE (social and emotional literacy) and RE

Phase Two

Year 2 to Year 4

Phase Two spans Year 2 to Year 4 where pupils learn to build their self-esteem, confidence and social skills. Basic numeracy and literacy skills are fully developed and pupils are encouraged to be curious and investigative across all areas of the curriculum. Problem solving skills are introduced and more fully developed. Pupils enjoy studying the full breadth of subjects and have specialist teaching in Music, P.E. and Art and Design.

Phase Three

Year 5 and Year 6

Phase Three is the preparation for more independent study where research techniques are honed and pupils are encouraged to think critically. Pupils in Phase Two develop leadership skills and take on more roles and responsibilities across the school and for their own learning. Investigative and Independent learning, based on the cores skills established in Phase Two, enables pupils to prepare for secondary school transition. Specialist subject teaching occurs in Music, P.E., Art and Design, Food Technology and Drama.